Music Director

directorDavid Puderbaugh has served as Music Director of Chamber Singers of Iowa City since 2002. Puderbaugh also serves as Assistant Director of Choral Activities at The University of Iowa, where he teaches graduate choral literature and undergraduate choral conducting, conducts the UI Camerata chorus, and assists in the administration of the choral program.

A native Iowan, Puderbaugh holds a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Drake University, a master’s degree in Choral Conducting from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and a doctoral degree in Choral Conducting and Pedagogy from The University of Iowa.

Puderbaugh’s research, initiated during a Fulbright Fellowship, centers on Estonian choral music. He is interested in bringing the Baltic region’s vast choral treasury to the United States through performance as well as in the creation of performing and critical editions.

An active tenor soloist, Puderbaugh has appeared throughout the Midwest and in Estonia, where he performs with the award-winning chamber choir Voces Musicales. He is editor of Melisma, the newsletter of the American Choral Directors Association’s (ACDA) north central division, and sound recordings reviews editor for ACDA’s national magazine, the Choral Journal.


acompThe accompanist for the Chamber Singers plays a vital role – not only accompanying every Monday night rehearsal, but also running sectionals and performing in concerts.

Lynda Hakken, Accompanist, is a freelance musician in the area and also has a private studio. In addition, she is visiting faculty in the organ department at The University of Iowa, teaching Liturgics, Keyboard Harmony and Score Reading. Hakken is also an active solo performer and accompanist whose doctoral research is the basis for a beginning method of keyboard harmony. Hakken’s Doctor of Musical Arts in Organ Performance and Pedagogy and Master of Arts in Organ Performance are from The University of Iowa. Her Bachelor of Music in Organ Performance is from Hope College in Michigan. She studied with Anthony Kooiker (piano), Huw Lewis, Delores Bruch and Delbert Disselhorst (organ).


Members of the Chamber Singers of Iowa City are chosen annually by audition. We are proud to say that our current members come from many local areas including Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, Coralville, Davenport, Fairfield, Kalona, Keota, Mt. Vernon, North Liberty, and Solon.


Alicia Vance Aguiar

Nancy Bell

Jo Ann Benda +

Mary Anne Berg

Alison Burchett +

Dixie Cassady

Dawn Clark

Taylor Dengler

Nichole Early

Kim Erlandson

Kari Fomon

Sara Hachtman

Shannon Knipfer

Beth Korleski +

Emily Lang

Michala Martin

Elaine Reding

Lauren Ringe

Lora Schmoll

Marilyn Thompson



Carolina Ama

Cindy Breed

Lauren Dengler

Lynn Dornfeld

Alyssa Hanson

Monica Hinkle

Jean Littlejohn

Joyce Marner

Colleen McRoberts

Julie Noble +

Kathryn Peterson

Trina Roberts +

Barbara Schanbacher

Teresa Treat

Jan Tschantz *

Carolyn Wallace

Lisa White



Glenn Anderson

Peter Bixler

Kai Bouma

David Darner

Jeff Emrich

Luigi Enriquez

David Gardner *

Richard Hanson

Charles Helms

James Petersen

Ned Szumski +

Peter Taft

Warren Yoder



Josh Atcher +

Douglas Blake *

T. Edward Breed

Michael Darby

Pier Debes

Patrick Gilpin

Marc Hines

Grant Lyons

Tom Ogilvie

Joseph Patrick

Dan Reschly

Nate Roelfs

David Rust

Alan Stang

Bruce Teigland


* denotes section leader

+ denotes board member


Board of Directors

The Chamber Singers of Iowa City board of directors is chosen annually by the membership. These volunteers work closely with the Music Director to produce concerts, publicize performances, raise funds and manage chorus membership, and we thank them for the countless hours they spend making the Chamber Singers possible.



Jo Ann Benda

Past President

Barbara Schanbacher


Julie Noble


Ed Breed

Members at Large

Josh Atcher

MacKenzie Deroo

Beth Korleski


Kathryn Peterson

Ned Szumski


Seth Wenger


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *